Presenting at the SBL Pacific Coast 2017 Regional Meeting

I have a couple of announcements that I am planning to make in January 2017, about some of my future plans for blogging and activism, but for now I will post an announcement about an academic conference that I will be presenting at next year.

SBL

My paper “Eschatology in Alexander’s Letter to Olympias and the Book of Revelation” has been accepted to the New Testament: Epistles and Apocalypse section of the Pacific Coast regional meeting of the Society of Biblical Literature. Below is the abstract:

“The Alexander Romance is an open textual tradition comprised of numerous sources about the myths and exploits of Alexander the Great. The letter to Olympias is a special source in book 2 of the AR, appended to the text of recension β, but missing from recension α. The letter consists of a first person celestial travel narrative, in which Alexander journeys to the ends of the earth, descends into the sea, and flies into the air.

During his journey, Alexander describes seeing giant creatures with forearms and hands like saws, birds with human faces, and many other marvels. Although the preceding narrative in the AR is already quite legendary, the letter to Olympias stands out for its heightened fantastic elements, and it is written according to different generic conventions than the rest of the text.

Behind the baroque imagery in the letter is an eschatological undercurrent, in which Alexander pushes the world to its very limits. Similar themes of eschatology can also be found in other ancient accounts of celestial visions, such as the Book of Revelation. In the vision of John of Patmos he sees winged creatures covered in eyeballs, angelic beings, and the end of days. Unlike Alexander, who had merely traveled to the end of this world, John sees the world to come.

The letter to Olympias and the Book of Revelation offer two competing eschatologies. Alexander represents an earthly eschatology, whereas Christ represents an apocalyptic eschatology. Alexander may have been the greatest king of the Greeks, but Jesus is king over a divine and eternal kingdom. Comparing the eschatology in Revelation to other celestial travel accounts, such as the letter to Olympias, will shed light on the text’s role in defining the borders between the Christian and Greco-Roman worlds.”

You can also read this earlier blog post that I wrote on the same topic, in which I flesh out some more of my arguments and analysis. The SBL has always been one of my favorite academic conferences to both attend and present at, so I look forward to giving yet another presentation at next year’s regional meeting.

-Matthew Ferguson

This entry was posted in Academic Conferences, Announcements. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Presenting at the SBL Pacific Coast 2017 Regional Meeting

  1. Good stuff! Do you also plan on going to the annual meetings of SBL or just the regionals?

  2. Jason says:

    Can’t wait till you get back to blogging my friend. The impact (negative/psychological) that Christianity had on me was nothing less than disastrous!

    I have been fighting the psychological trauma for over a decade and can honestly say, FINALLY, my life has taken a positive turn! I owe it to scholars such as yourself, who have exposed and continue to expose the Bible and its apologist (David Marshall for example)!

    Thanks a million Matthew, I don’t know if you realise the positive impact scholars such as yourself have on people like me? But regardless, I want to extend my heartfelt gratitude to you.

    Thank you

    • Thanks Jason, comments like this are encouraging! I plan to do as much work as I can to help both the progressive and secular movements in this country. Sometimes that requires sacrificing the short term for the long term. I’d love to blog more this year, but I also have critical dissertation work to complete. I’ll still do what I can. But if I go silent for a while, just remember that I am planning to strike hard in a few years 😉

Leave a Reply

